Lifestyle

How I became a Software Developer

Its only been about 4 months since I graduated from the University of Florida but it seems like an eternity ago. 4 months ago I was just another overly competitive Pre-Med student trying to make a name for myself. But now, I have become a full time software developer at Vydia, Inc.

You might be wondering, why the change in direction?

It is because I realized that I’m not completely sure what I want to do with my life. I didn’t study Chemical Engineering because I loved Chemistry. I did it because my dad told me that it would a good choice and I listened to him.

I didn’t follow the Pre-Med path because I felt the necessity to practice medicine. I studied it because going to the hospital became a daily thing after my mom got kidney failure when I was 7. Attempting to make her proud is why I pursued medicine. But even after I got good grades, filled my resume up with experiences and scored 99th percentile on the MCAT, something just felt missing…

This is why I came to New Jersey… to do some soul searching. And hopefully get really good at programming. I can say for certain that I have no idea where life will take me. I just know that whatever I end up pursuing in the future, I will have made 100% of the decision making. Plus, its nice to take a break every once in a while and just enjoy life and have fun.

…to be continued

-Weijie Gao

One thought on “How I became a Software Developer

Leave a Reply

